Skip to Content

Atlanta, South Florida, Los Angeles Awarded Future Super Bowls

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell Press ConferenceNFL Commissioner Roger Goodell Press Conference
SAN FRANCISCO, CA - FEBRUARY 05: NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell speaks during a press conference prior to Super Bowl 50 at the Moscone Center West on February 5, 2016 in San Francisco, California. (Photo by Mike Lawrie/Getty Images)Mike Lawrie Getty Images

Following a meeting in Charlotte, N.C., on Tuesday, NFL owners voted to award Super Bowl LIII to Atlanta, Super Bowl LIV to South Florida and Super Bowl LV to Los Angeles.

In his MMQB column, Peter King predicted the Super Bowls will be awarded to Atlanta, South Florida and Los Angeles in that order.

Atlanta’s $1.4 billion Mercedes-Benz Stadium is set to open next year. Atlanta will host the College Football Playoff in 2018 and the NCAA tournament Final Four in 2020.

Football is already returning to Los Angeles with the Rams set to play the 2016–17 season there, and a new $2.6 billion stadium in Inglewood, Calif., will host the Super Bowl in 2021. The city hosted the first Super Bowl in 1967.

Raiders move to Las Vegas not on agenda at NFL owners meetings

Super Bowl LI will be held in Houston in February 2017. Minnesota will host Super Bowl LII in February 2018.

New Orleans and Tampa were also vying for hosting rights.

Previous Super Bowls by City

Atlanta: 1994, 2000

New Orleans: 1970, 1972, 1975, 1978, 1981, 1986, 1990, 1997, 2002, 2013

Los Angeles: 1967, 1973, 1977, 1980, 1983, 1987, 1993

South Florida: 1968, 1969, 1971, 1976, 1979, 1989, 1995, 1999, 2007, 2010

Tampa: 1984, 1991, 2001, 2009