By Natasha Bach
Updated: April 9, 2019 10:40 AM ET | Originally published: January 23, 2019

The 2020 presidential election may still be more than a year away, but the field of Democratic candidates is already crowded.

California Rep. Eric Swalwell is the latest to join a field of now 18 candidates vying for the party’s nomination—and there could still be more to come.

The victor will run against Republican President Donald J. Trump in his presumed reelection bid, unless former Massachusetts Gov. Bill Weld or another Republican manages to edge out the incumbent.


Former Texas Rep. Beto O’Rourke surprised few when he announced that he had decided to run for president on March 14. Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders announced his candidacy on Feb. 19. New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker entered the race on Feb. 1, followed by Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar on Feb. 10. Pete Buttigieg, mayor of South Bend, Indiana, announced a presidential exploratory committee on Jan. 23.

On Jan. 12, former San Antonio Mayor and Obama administration official Julian Castro announced his bid after forming an exploratory committee in December. On Jan. 15, New York Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert announced her exploratory committee.

California Sen. Kamala Harris declared her intentions on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, while Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren put forth her candidacy on New Year’s Eve.

A number of lesser-known Democratic candidates have also announced their intentions to run for president, including Hawaii Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, Washington Gov. Jay Inslee, former Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper, former Maryland Rep. John Delaney, California Rep. Eric Swalwell, Ohio Rep. Tim Ryan, Miramar, Florida mayor Wayne Messam, entrepreneur Andrew Yang, and writer and spiritual adviser to Oprah Marianne Williamson. Former West Virginia state Sen. Richard Ojeda, while one of the first to announce his candidacy, dropped out of the race after deciding that he didn’t have a shot at winning.

Potential Candidates

A number of other Democrats are considered potential candidates, including former Vice President Joe Biden, Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, and former Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe.

Both Hillary Clinton and former New York City Mayor—and former Republican—Michael Bloomberg, once considered probable candidates, have announced that they will not run in the 2020 election.


You May Like