The peninsular of Gibraltar on August 8, 2013 in Gibraltar.
Photo by Oli Scarff — Getty Images
By Reuters and Fortune Editors
June 23, 2016

Gibraltar voted strongly to remain in the European Union in Britain’s membership referendum on Thursday, the counting officer for the overseas territory said, the first result to declared.

Nearly 96% of voters in Gibraltar backed staying in the EU, while 4 percent supported leaving the bloc. Based on pre-vote surveys, it was considered one of the safest areas for the “Remain” side.

Gibraltar, a tiny British enclave at the southern tip of Spain, is one of the first voting areas to report.

By 11 p.m. ET (4 a.m. GMT) half the wards should have reported their results. But it won’t be until 12 a.m. ET that 80% of the districts have reported their results, and it is likely that anyone will be able to declare that either the “leave” camp had won, or the “remain” camp, which goes by Bremain, was victorious.

Click here, for Fortune’s coverage of what happens in the Brexit vote.

Click here, for a Fortune explainer on what is Brexit.


You May Like